2012 German Studies Excellence Award

On May 3, 2012 the German program celebrated the 16th annual Lufthansa Prize for Excellence in German Studies. This year there were 48 applicants from 7 subjects in German ranging from German I through 21F.416 (20th and 21st Century German Literature). Two first prizes, a round-trip flight to Frankfurt, were awarded to Jelimo Maswan, currently in German I , and Jessica Ruprecht, a minor candidate currently in 21F.416. Second and third prizes, German DVD’s, CD’s and book prizes, were awarded to sixteen students. Distinguished guests at this year’s prize ceremony were the German Consul Friedrich Löhr, Mr. Marius Carstensen, Lufthansa District Sales Manager for New England and President of the German-American Business Council of Boston, Mr. Detlef Gericke-Schönhagen, Director of the Goethe Institut, Boston, and Ms. Ingeborg Unfried of Lufthansa in New York. The Lufthansa Prize is sponsored by Lufthansa AG, Consulate General of Germany, The Goethe Institut, MIT-Germany, and Foreign Languages and Literatures.

First Prize

  • Jelimo Bettina Maswan ’14, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Jessica Ruprecht ’12, McKinleyville, CA

Second Prize

  • Yin Fu Chen ’14, Kearney, NE
  • Kirsten Hessler ’12, Roswell, GA
  • Ofir Nachum ’14, Northborough, MA

Third Prize

  • Halide Bey ’15, Nicosia, Cyprus
  • Craig Broady ’12, Revere, MA
  • Irene Brockman G, Casstown, OH
  • Amy Fritz ’12, Eagan, MN
  • Shirley Galbiati ’13, Saratoga, CA
  • Laura Gilson ’13, Moraga, CA
  • Andrea Kereki ’13, Târgu Mureş, Romania
  • Stanislav Lukashov ’15, Brighton, MA
  • Nikola Otasevic ’12, Belgrade, Serbia
  • Paul Ragaller G, Annville, PA
  • Warut Suksompong ’13, Washington, DC
  • Thaís Terceiro Jorge ’12, Fortaleza, Brazil
  • Jovana Veselinovic ’12, Istočno Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina